How can I limit reservation visibility between users?
In Trail, reservation visibility can be restricted in two ways:
- Reservation calendars based on departments
- An additional user group setting to show only the user's own reservations
1. Reservation calendars – Restrict visibility by department
- Reservation calendars allow users to see only the reservations in calendars they have access to based on their departments.
- When a user creates a reservation, it is automatically added to their department's reservation calendar. If the user has access to multiple calendars, they can select which calendar the reservation is added to.
- Setup: Contact Trail Support at support@trail.fi and provide the names of the calendars you would like to create and the departments that should be included in each calendar. Trail Support will create the calendars. After that, you can manage which departments belong to each calendar under Admin → Departments.
- For detailed instructions and examples of different use cases, see Reservation calendar.
Note!
- Creating reservation calendars does not affect existing reservations. These can be assigned to calendars afterwards by editing the reservation.
- When setting up reservation calendars, we recommend assigning every department to a calendar. If a user does not have access to any reservation calendar, the reservations they create will be visible to all Trail users in the organisation.
2. Additional user group setting – Show only own reservations
- This setting allows you to restrict users in a specific user group who have Reader access to Reservations so that they can only see their own reservations.
- The setting can be enabled in the user group's settings.
- For detailed instructions on managing user groups, see User groups.